Amazon Forest | Location & Information

Where is Amazon Forest?
Amazon Rainforest is located in South America.

The Amazon Rainforest is a dense moist broadleaf forest that covers most of the Amazon Basin of South America. The rainforest covers approximately 5,500,000 square kilometres (2,100,000 sq mi), an area belonging to nine countries: Brazil, Peru, Colombia, Venezuela, Ecuador, Bolivia, Guyana, Suriname, France (French Guiana). Sixty percent of the forest belongs to Brazil.

The Amazon Rainforest is known by many names in various languages, as Amazonia or the Amazon Jungle in English; Floresta Amazônica or Amazônia in Portuguese; Selva Amazónica, Amazonía or usually Amazonia in Spanish; Forêt amazonienne in French; and as Amazoneregenwoud in Dutch.

The Amazon is the largest and most biodiverse rainforest on Earth; in fact it represents over half of the planet's remaining rainforests. The forest contains an estimated 390 billion individual trees divided into 16,000 species. However, this number has been sturdily declining over the years as the forest is being harmed by human activity, including climate change, deforestation and lumbering.

Image Courtesy:

View Amazon Rainforest in a larger map

Add new comment

Plain text