Austria | Location & Information

Where is Austria?
Austria is a country located in Central Europe.

Austria is officially known as the Republic of Austria. It is a federal republic and a landlocked country located in Central Europe. On the north, it shared its border with the Czech Republic and Germany; in the east, with Hungary and Slovakia; in the south with Slovenia and Italy; and with Switzerland and Liechtenstein to the west. It is a part of the European Union and of the United Nations. It is also a founder of the OECD.

Austria has an area of 83,855 square kilometres (32,377 sq mi) and a population of roughly 8.47 million people. Austria has a highly mountainous terrain due to the presence of the Alps, and has a temperate and alpine climate. The official language of the country is Austria, while most of the population speaks local Bavarian dialects of German. Other local official languages of the country are Hungarian, Burgenland Croatian, and Slovene.

Vienna is the country’s capital and its largest city with an approximate population of more than 1.7 million. Austria is considered to be one of the richest countries in the world, with a high standard of living and Human Development Index.

Image Courtesy:

Add new comment

Plain text