About Cricket

Cricket was invented in the vast fields of England; it was played by shepherds who herded their flock. Later on, this game was shown generosity by aristocrats, and now has the stature of being England's national game. Now after a decade, cricket stands in the international arena, with a place of its own.

Cricket is a game played by two teams with 11 players on each team. It is played on a large oval field with a rectangular ‘pitch’ in the middle, with wickets at each end of the pitch. The game is split into two halves, where one team ‘bats’ and the other team ‘fields’. Each half is known as ‘an inning’.

The three main functions of a team are: bowling, fielding and batting. The three main key players of Cricket are:

Bowler: the one who bowls, and tries to get the batsmen ‘out’.

Batsmen: the one who scores runs of the balls, which are bowled by the bowler.

Fielder: the remaining 10, who assist the bowler in achieving his goal, and prevent the batsmen from scoring runs.

The game of cricket is played in many formats. The most popular formats are ‘Test Cricket’ and ‘One Day’ cricket. Also, there are two umpires, who ensure that the match is conducted in accordance with cricket’s 42 laws. 

Add new comment

Plain text