England is a part of the United Kingdom, which is located in northwest Europe.

England is a country that is one of the four parts of the United Kingdom. The other three being Wales, Scotland and Northern Ireland. England shared its borders with Scotland on the north and with Wales on the west. The rest of the borders of England are surrounded by sea. The Irish Sea lies northwest of England, whilst the Celtic Sea lies to the southwest. The North Sea borders England to the east, and the English Channel separates it from continental Europe at the south.

Most of England comprises of the central and southern part of the island of Great Britain. Hence, England also constitutes as largest part of the United Kingdom. England also includes over 100 smaller islands, including the popular islands of the Isles of Scilly, and the Isle of Wight. London is the biggest city in England.

England has been one of the powerhouses in history and still is. It is the base of the English language, one of the most commonly spoken languages in the world; the English law, which formed the basis for the common law legal systems of many other countries around the world; and the parliamentary system, which has been adopted by many other countries around the world. This was also helped by the fact that the Kingdom of Great Britain, once owned most of these countries. England was also the basis of the Industrial Revolution, which eventually led to the world as we know it. 

Add new comment

Plain text