Estonia is a country located in the Baltic region of Northern Europe.

Estonia is officially known as the Republic of Estonia. It is a democratic parliamentary republic that is located in the Baltic region of Northern Europe. It is bordered to the east by Russia and Lake Peipus; and in the south by Latvia. Its northern and western boundaries are shared by water bodies. Its northern boundary is the Gulf of Finland, whereas its western boundary is the Baltic Sea.

Tallinn is Estonia’s capital and its largest city. The country is divided into 15 counties, which covers 45,227 sq km (17,462 sq mi). The county’s population is approximately 1.3 million, most of which are ethnically Finnic people. The official language of Estonia is Estonian, which is part of the Finno-Ugric group of languages. Estonian is closely related to Finnish, and distantly to Hungarian.

Estonia is a developed country with an advanced, high-income economy. It is one of the countries that formed out of the fall of the Soviet Union. Today, it is a member state of the European Union, Eurozone and the North Atlantic Treaty Organization. It has one of the highest Gross Domestic Product per person among the former Soviet republics, and is a member of the Organisation for Economic Co-operation and Development. Estonia also has a high Human Development Index, and ranks high in press freedom, economic freedom, civil liberties and education. In fact, in 2012, it had the third highest press freedom in the world. It is also considered as one of the most wired countries in Europe, and is recognized as a leader in e-government.

Add new comment

Plain text