Ethiopia is located in East Africa.

Ethiopia is officially known as the Federal Democratic Republic of Ethiopia. It is a country located in East Africa, in what is known as the Horn of Africa. The country is bordered by Eritrea to the north and northeast, by Djibouti and Somalia to the east, by Sudan and South Sudan to the west, and by Kenya to the south.

Addis Ababa is the largest city and capital of Ethiopia. Ethiopia is a land-locked country, with a total area of 1,100,000 square kilometers (420,000 sq mi) and an approximate population of 93 million. Hence, it is officially the most populous landlocked country in the world. However, it is the second-most populated nation on the African continent, the title of the most populated nation on the African continent belongs to Nigeria with approximately a population of 177 million, almost 16% of the world’s entire population.

According to scientists, Ethiopia is one of the one of the oldest locations of human life. It is commonly believed to be the region from which the Homo sapiens first set out for the Middle East and other places. Today, Ethiopia is a multilingual society with around 80 ethnic groups; the two largest being the Oromo and the Amhara. It is also popular as the country where the coffee bean originated. The country has also made a name for itself with its culture and cuisine.

Historically, it is the only African country to defeat a European colonial power and retain its sovereignty as an independent country. It was also the first independent African member of the League of Nations and the UN. In fact it was one of the founding members of the UN, as well as the Group of 24 (G-24), the Non-Aligned Movement, G-77 and the Organisation of African Unity. The capital of Ethiopia also serves as the headquarters of the African Union, the Pan African Chamber of Commerce and Industry, the UNECA, the African Standby Force and many of global NGOs focused on Africa.

Add new comment

Plain text