ICC Cricket World Cup

The ICC Cricket World Cup is the One Day International championship tournament of cricket.

The ICC Cricket World Cup is one of the most popular and widely watched televised events. It is ranked third after the Football World Cup and the Summer Olympics. It is considered as “a flagship event of the international cricket calendar” by the ICC.  

The Cricket World Cup is held every 4 years, under the authority of the ICC. It begins with preliminary qualification rounds and leads to finals between two teams. There are 19 teams which take part in the tournament, although, there were only 14 in the last 2011 tournament. Out of the 19 teams, 10 battle it out for the top two finals spot in the competition. The winner is handed the Golden Cup trophy. Having won once before, India has now twice held the cup under their name; they won the 2011 World Cup. Also, Pakistan and Sri Lanka both have once each won the tournament; however, it is Australia and Kenya who have set the record for winning the World Cup four times each.

The first World Cup match was held in England in June 1975, also the next three consecutive matches were held in England. It was from 1987, when the task of holding and organizing the tournament was shared between the countries, under an unofficial rotating system. All the 14 ICC members were required to host at-least one match of the World Cup tournament. Also, the single edition hosting is often shared between the neighboring countries, i.e. in 2011, the tournament was held and won by India, but was shared between Bangladesh, India, and Sri Lanka.

Add new comment

Plain text