Meaning of Indian Flag

The Indian Flag has three colors: Saffron, White and Green.

Like the flags of all countries, the Indian Flag symbolizes the country as a whole and what the country hold in honor. The Indian Flag consists of three bands of color; the top, saffron; the middle, white; and the bottom, green. The Indian Flag is colloquially known as Tiranga, meaning three colors.

The Indian Flag was first proposed by Mahatma Gandhi in 1921. This was before the independence was won. Gandhi proposed that having a flag that represents Indians will garner them together and help in the fight for independence, which it did. The flag was designed by Pingali Venkayya and was slightly different that the one today. This flag consisted of a traditional spinning wheel, which denoted Gandhi’s goal of making Indians self-reliant by fabricating their own clothing. This was later changed to the Ashoka Chakra of today. The modern rendition of the Indian Flag was accepted during a meeting of the Constituent Assembly held on 22 July 1947.

The three colors of the Indian flag each represent something which Indian hold dear. The top band of the flag is saffron, which represents the courage and sacrifice of the country. The middle band is white and represents peace and truth. The bottom band, green, represents the faith, chivalry and the fertility of the land. In the center of the flag is the Ashoka Chakra, placed on the white band, it represents the eternal wheel of law.

Add new comment

Plain text