When is Navratri?
Navratri is celebrated twice in a year- October-November (known as the ‘Sharad Navratri’) and March-April (known as - ‘Chaitra’ or ‘Vasant Navratri’).

Navratri is a Hindu significant festival. The word Navratri means ‘nine nights’. There are number of legends associated with the conception of Naavratri; the hindu Goddess Maa Shakti and her various forms are worshipped.  Similarly, the festive is celebrated in different parts all over India.

The festival especially belongs to the Gujarat and West –Bengal states of India. In Gujarat the festive is celebrated to worship the Goddess Jagdamba, while in West-Bengal it is celebrated in order to worship the goddess Durga.

In the southern parts of the country, the Navratri takes place in the month of October-November and the festive is dedicated to the three avatars of Goddess Shakti. The first three days to Goddess Durga (the Warrior Goddess), the next three days to Goddess Lakshmi (the Goddess of Wealth) and the last three days to Goddess Saraswati (the Goddess of Knowledge). Bomma Kolu (display of small statuettes and idols of Gods) is one of the important rituals of Navratri in South India.

The nine nights of the Navratri festival are followed by fasting in some parts of the country. The celebrations of Navratri are characterized and worshipped with different forms and arts. On account of this festival, Dandiya and Garba are performed by both men and women. These are the folk dance forms of Gujarat. It is interesting to see the Hindu people, belonging to different regions of India, celebrating the Navratri with full enthusiasm, every year.

The Nine forms of Shakti are worshipped during the Navaratris. The Devis worshipped depends on the tradition of the region. The goddesses worshipped are:

  • Durga
  • Bhadrakali
  • Amba or Jagadamba (Mother of the universe)
  • Annapoorna devi
  • Sarvamangala
  • Bhairavi
  • Chandika or Chandi
  • Lalita
  • Bhavani
  • Mookambika

Add new comment

Plain text